This is Why I Love Subway Musicians

Everytime I see a musician playing an instrument on the sidewalk or subway, I always stop and listen. And if I have some spare change in my pocket, I almost always make sure to give something (especially if the musician is really good).

I know that making a decent living being a musician is near impossible and those that can are incredibly hard working and/or lucky. That’s why I always take note when a musician fills a crowded area with lovely music while people in the normal hustle and bustle of the world pass them by.

That’s what I loved about one of the short films at this year’s French Film Festival called “7.57 am-pm,” an 11-minute film which features violinist Renaud Capuçon playing Christoph Willibald Gluck’s “Orfeo Melody” in the Paris subway from 7:57 a.m. to 7:57 p.m. where he made a few euros and two days later, played a sold-out concert at the prestigious Théâtre des Champs-Elysées in Paris.

The music he played was hauntingly beautiful and a nice thing to hear traveling the city. I would have emptied my pockets for him.

Listen to Gluck’s “Orfeo Melody”

One thought on “This is Why I Love Subway Musicians

Leave a Reply

