Friday Cheers is Coming

The summer concert season kicks off this week with the first Friday Cheers show featuring indie folk duo Shovels and Rope and singer/songwriter Hayes Carll.

Shovels and Rope, composed of husband and wife Michael Trent and Cary Ann Hearst, has been entertaining crowds since its 2012 album “O’ Be Joyful,” was released and quickly became a favorite among the indie music scene. Inspired by the likes of Woody Guthrie, Elvis Costello, Bob Dylan and the songs of Johnny Cash and June Carter, Shovels and Rope channel country, bluegrass and blues through an indie rock style. Hayes Carll made the music scene take notice with 2008’s “Trouble in Mind,” which quickly made its way up country and indie rock charts. Carll released his latest album “KMAG YOYO” (an abbreviation for “Kiss My Ass Guys, You’re On Your Own”) in 2011 and is currently working on some new songs.

Make sure to check back here every week for the Friday Cheers Artist Confidential video series I’m helping to produce. Watch the teaser above if you still need to know who’s coming. Every week, there will be an exclusive artist interview. Check back next week for our interview with Hayes Carll.

Also, because I’m such a nice guy, I’m giving away one season pass for Friday Cheers and two sets of tickets for this week’s show with Shovels and Rope and Hayes Carll. To enter, post a comment below about your favorite Friday Cheers show, who you think should be playing there, how much you want to see a certain artist, whatever. I’ll pick my favorite post at the end of the day (so make sure to leave a way for me to contact you).

10 thoughts on “Friday Cheers is Coming

  1. My all time favorite show at Friday Cheers was Grace Potter and the Nocturnals. I was blown away by their sound and can’t believe I had never heard of them until that night. I’ve been a huge fan ever since.
    I’m really looking forward to seeing the Head and the Heart with Black Girls this year. I love, love, love the Black Girls and can’t wait to see them again. They bring so much energy to the stage. Their shows are always a blast.

  2. My absolute favorite show at Friday Cheers was Dawes last year with Sara Watkins opening. Dawes was the perfect type of band for the venue and were absolutely electrifying during their whole set. You can’t go wrong with Peter Gabriel for your encore song either. This year I’m looking forward to Head And The Heart. Got to see them last year at The National and I would love the chance to see them again with a hot Richmond crowd. As far as who should play, Ha Ha Tonka would be probably one of the best bands possible for Friday Cheers. They have perhaps the most accessible folk-rock sound that’s appealing to music lovers from all walks of life. And they wrote a song about an electric fan – you don’t get much cooler than that.

  3. My favorite show from Friday Cheers has to be Alabama Shakes from last year. Southern rock seems right at home in Richmond and with Brittany Howard’s explosive vocals that soar over the melodies, it made for a truly unforgettable night. This year, I really, really can’t wait for Virginia’s own Kishi Bashi. I love 151a so much and just got obsessed with it as soon as I heard it. I’m really intrigued to see Kaoru live too. Walk The Moon is a band I think would absolutely floor people at Friday Cheers. They’re almost tailor-made for an outdoor concert and especially a place like Friday Cheers. Seeing them live there would be one of those truly unforgettable concert moments.

  4. Grace Potter was my favorite show as well. I can’t get enough of her music. Whenever I put on Lion Beast & Beat, I can help but put it on repeat.

    Really excited to see Lake Street Dive is coming back to town. I’ve been a fan ever since I heard about their rendition of I Want You Back at The Camel. Their album Fun Machine also has fun versions of Rich Girl and Faith.

  5. I’ve been so glad to see Friday Cheers being revamped in recent years! Dawes last season was my absolute favorite. I’m really looking forward to all the artists this season, but I’m especially ecstatic about The Head and The Heart and Black Girls. Brown’s Island is the perfect setting for this amazing combination of music. The blend of stellar local artists with amazing national acts can not be beat!

  6. Best memories were going down to Friday Cheers with my dad when I was a little kid. Didn’t matter the band, I always had a great time. We both still go, never too cool to hang out with my dad.
    They always get the best band. Last year’s line up would probably be my favorite with Dawes, Alabama Shakes, & Carolina Chocolate Drops. I can’t get enough of those band. Other favorite shows would be Trombone Shorty, Grace Potter, Spin Doctors, and Drive-by-Truckers.
    There are 2 shows I am really looking forward to this season: The Lone Bellow & The Head & The Heart. Earlier this month I saw The Lone Bellow rock out at Strange Matter, they were amazing! With The Black Girls opening up for The Head & The Heart it will be a nice flashback to their show at The National last year.

  7. My favorite Friday Cheers show was Alabama Shakes! It was my VCU graduation night and I convinced my parents to go with me! It’s one of my most cherished memories because it’s not something my parents and I would typically do together.

  8. My favorite Friday Cheers show was the Carolina Chocolate Drops! I went to see them the night I graduated from VCU. I convinced my parents to go with me and it is one of my most cherished memories with them.

  9. My favorite Friday Cheers show was the Carolina Chocolate Drops. I went to see them the night I graduated from VCU. I convinced my parents to go with me and it is one of my most cherished memories with them.

Leave a Reply

