RVA Playlist Closed for Business

Untitled-1These words are extremely hard to write.

After much thought, I have decided to shut down RVA Playlist. This wasn’t an easy decision. I love music and I love writing about music, but lately updating the blog has felt more like a chore than fun. For the past few weeks and with the ever-increasing demands of adulthood, the drive to constantly post about the Richmond music scene has been slowly fading away. The trend of online music journalism has become one of posting sensationalist stories, talking about the same bands and events, or covering every single the show the music scene has to offer. This one-man operation simply cannot handle that. And sometimes you have to know when to walk away.

Over the past 5+ years, I’ve met countless people from artists to venue owners to the colorful characters that make this city so great. I’ve thrown four successful birthday events and guest hosted a number of other music-related events. I’ve met some very close friends and was exposed to some truly amazing music. That’s something I wouldn’t give up for the world. I want to thank every single person I’ve encountered covering the music scene and every single person who read this site as a way to find new music.

The more I think about it, the more I think I’m ending this venture at a perfect time.

To be honest, the Richmond music scene doesn’t need me anymore. Years ago when I started covering Richmond music, there were very few options for artists to promote themselves. The mainstream media usually focused on the bigger acts coming to the city rather than its local offerings. I felt like the music coming out of here was so great and not many people were paying attention to it. I was one of a few voices that were champions for the music being created here.

Now it’s a different story. Local music is heavily featured in the city’s media outlets. Local bands are being featured on NPR, Pitchfork and Paste Magazine on a regular basis. Artists are appearing on stage at major festivals around the country and opening for some of the biggest names in music. People outside Richmond are finally beginning to notice what an incredible scene we have here. I like to think I had a hand in this, but really the majority of these accolades go to the artists and the teams behind them. First and foremost, it’s their talent and determination that’s brought the national spotlight here. And I’m leaving the scene in good hands. Follow You Hear That, The Cheats Movement, Sounds of RVA and The Horn RVA for excellent words on Richmond music.

Although this blog is ending, I’m not completely hanging my hat just yet. I’ll still be contributing to RVA News’ music coverage and I’m a regular contributor to the Contrast Podcast (this past week’s episode is the End of Year list that features Richmond’s own Matthew E. White). And my current job is focusing on ways to promote the city’s music scene to the rest of the country so there are definitely new things on the horizon.

You can still find me on social media at @rvaplaylist and you’re always welcome to email your new projects and show invites. I still want to hear the good music coming out of Richmond.

And, of course, I won’t sign off without sharing music, so please enjoy this 2015 Mix of RVA artists.

2 thoughts on “RVA Playlist Closed for Business

Leave a Reply

