“Love Kills” the Crowd at the Firehouse Theatre

This weekend, I got the chance to see the new emo rock musical “Love Kills” at the Firehouse Theatre. The play is based on real life murderers Charles Starkweather and Caril Ann Fugate, who murdered 11 people in the course of a week after they are apprehended and questioned by police.

Nicholas Aliff (Charlie) was by far the biggest standout. His pitch perfect voice and raw emotion made me enjoy every song. The opening number sent chills down my spine. Even though the show opened with power and energy, it faded quickly and by the end, was very lackluster. Aliff and Emma Orelove (Caril) seemed to have little chemistry together and it was hard to tell if they were actually in love.

Most of the play takes place in the aftermath of the duo’s killing spree. I would have loved to have seen more of what led up to it. I think it would have made the choices the characters make during the play that much more powerful. I did, however, love the story behind the play and am interested in learning more about the people these characters were based off of.

The show runs until Nov. 20 with 8 p.m. shows Thursdays-Saturdays and selected 4 p.m. pay-what-you-will matinees.

When I Could Feel

One comment

  1. Dude, I am so happy to see that about Nick! I went to High School with him and his sister! He is a very talented performer and a hell of a nice guy!

Leave a comment