Artists to Keep an Eye on in 2011

The Low Branches. Photo by Leslie Edwards

2010 may be over, but things are already moving along in the Richmond music scene. Here are a bunch of artsits and bands who I expect to see big things from in 2011

THE LOW BRANCHES
The soft, hushed sounds of the Low Branches were always welcome music to my ears. And next year, they will be releasing their first ever album “Sinking, Rising” (Preview the intro track here) in January and I know people will start noticing this amazing group.

The Low Branches – Louisville Lake

RADIO B
Radioblitz, also known as simply Radio B, is a nice, refreshing look at urban hip-hop. Their latest album “Exceeding Expectations” features a smorgasboard oh hip-hop talent all on one collection. You can download the entire album for free here. “My Moment” is extremely catching and I keep finding an excuse to listen to it. Expect to hear more from these guys in the new year.

Radio B – My Moment

NO DICE
I saw No Dice briefly perform at a Canal Club show earlier this year and I knew there was something I liked about them. Slowly they’ve been playing more shows and next year, the group will be working on a new album with producer Rich Stine (who was responible for amazing releases from Against Grace, Long Arms and The Greater The Risk just in the past year). I’m really looking forward to seeing what’s next for this group.

No Dice – Going Home

FUZZY BABY
Although Fuzzy Baby has been playing a lot of shows this year, they do not have any releases yet. That’s something they will be working on in 2011 and I will definitely make sure to get a copy. Hopefully they will put some of the ridiculously awesome banter from their shows on it. There’s so much talent here and the rest of Richmond (and beyond) need to hear it.

Fuzzy Baby – Sigh

STEPHEN FROST
Stephen Frost recently moved back to Richmond after writing music for theater and is currently breaking back into the music scene. He recently formed the Led Zeppelin tribute band Led Zepplica and his cover of The Naked and Famous’ “Young Blood” was catchy as hell. He’s working on new material and it will be interesting to see what develops.

Stephen Frost – Young Blood

LOBO MARINO
After hearing the chaotic, yet harmonious sounds of Lobo Marino at various times throughout the year, I know that they will be doing something amazing in the new year. They plan on recording a new album and if it involves accordions and flying animals, I’m there.

Lobo Marino – Animal Hands

Leave a comment