Switchfoot and Airborne Toxic Event Make a Miracle at the National

I’m sure you’ve heard that Switchfoot and The Airborne Toxic Event are coming together to play a show at the National on Thursday, Dec. 1 as part of 102.1 The X’s “Miracle on Broad Street.”

I haven’t really paid attention to Switchfoot since 2003’s “The Beautiful Letdown.” I remember enjoying that album but failed to pay attention to the group after that. Since then, the group has released four albums including the Grammy-winning “Hello Hurricane” and the recently-released “Vice Verses.”

Right now, Switchfoot is also raising money for charity and inviting artists to submit their most creative hoodie designs for the chance to have it produced and distributed, with proceeds benefiting StandUp For Kids. The winner’s hoodie design will be produced in partnership with Jedidiah Clothing and be featured in Switchfoot’s social media channel. Plus, the winner also wins $1,500. For more information on the contest, go here.

As for the Airborne Toxic Event, I’ve been wanting to check them out since their very catchy single “Sometime Around Midnight.” They’ve been on my radar for some time and with the release of their new album, “All At Once,” they now have my attention. It’s already in my top rotation and I seriously cannot stop listening to “All I Ever Wanted” and “Numb.”

For the show at the National, local bands Against Grace and Drew Martin and the Limelights will be opening the show after winning last week’s Battle of the Bands. Both of these bands are very talented and put on a great live show.

I will say that The X usually puts on a good holiday show. The last few times I went to the “Not So Silent Night” shows, I was usually impressed and was always exposed to a new band that I really enjoyed and I expect the same at this one.

Switchfoot – Meant to Live

The Airborne Toxic Event – Sometime Around Midnight

Leave a comment